You can require that students post to a Discussion before the see any of the other students' replies.
In Course Navigation, click the Discussions link.
Click the Add Discussion button.
Create your discussion by utilizing the following options:
- Enter your topic title in the topic title field.
- Use the Rich Content Editorto format your content.
- Require users to post to the discussion before viewing other replies by clicking the Users must post before seeing replies
Save and Publish
If you are ready to publish your discussion, click the Save & Publish button . If you want to create a draft of your discussion and publish it later, click the Save button .
When your discussion is saved in a draft state, you can return to the page and publish it at any time by clicking the Publish button.
Student View Discussion
Students will see a 'Replies are only visible to those who have posted at least one reply' message when they view the Discussion topic.
Note: Sometimes students will work around this requirement by deleting their posts. You can change your course settings to keep students from deleting their posts.