At the user level, you can expand or collapse module content from your personal view. You can use collapsing modules to keep track of where you are in the course. For example, when you finish the module, you can collapse it to you know where you are in the course or what module you need to work through.
In Course Navigation, click the Modules link.
Collapse Module Contents
Click the Expand/Collapse arrow. This will only hide the module contents from your personal view.
The module will stay collapsed until you decide to expand it. You can show module contents by clicking the Expand/Collapse arrow.